The writing purse

Yes,  I have a writing purse. No, it is not a purse that writes. It’s a very small black purse that I can fit my checkbook (yes, I still carry one), a few rewards cards, a pen and my lip gloss inside of it.I purchased this very small purse about 2 years ago when I found this amazing, perfect, beautiful messenger bag, I swear was made for me. I found the perfect messenger bag at a consignment shop and to this day say it’s my most prized used purchase. I figured I’d downsize the purse and put it in the messenger bag with my notebooks and books; I’d look all ‘writer-like’…if you talk the talk and walk the writer’s walk…you need a cool bag right?

I told myself if I had to carry this big bag around with my writing, then I’d have no excuse to write when it hit…I mean it was like carrying a writer’s studio on my shoulder…how could I NOT write more?!

A few months of lugging it around and trying to force more and more into the little purse…I had upgraded to a large baggage type purse. I thought it would save me from carrying my little purse and a book bag; combine the two into ONE large purse, it’ll be fine.

Well, the baggage purse worked for awhile, but made me feel like my shoulders were carrying bricks all day! That thing got HEAVY. Then I noticed I was still carrying a small book bag or carrying my Nook, a book, and notebooks in hand along with the baggage purse.

SO to the point…I’m back to the amazing made just for me messenger bag and small black purse. Any time I think I am tired of getting out the checkbook to find the lip gloss and fit it all back in again, I think of my writing…it’s sometimes unorganized, I sometimes write the middle while needing to focus on the beginning, sometimes I think “this is just too hard”, I’m going to write something else (get a different bag)…but it’s part of me. No, a purse does not make me a better writer, the messenger bag doesn’t spark creativity, but they both do serve as little reminders, little nudges “Hey, did you write today?” “Hey, you’re a writer…why aren’t you writing?”

 

About theinvisiblecar

2016 update - Still working on research for my novel, blogging, and writing and updating my author site, resources, etc. Loving working with other writers and researching new information for my site! 2014 - Writer in progress. I'm currently working on the second draft of a novel that I started many years ago. I am becoming more and more of the writer I am meant to be.
This entry was posted in My evergrowing writing routine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

