Fear

I write about fear often. I write about days when I conquer it and I write about days I swim in it, almost drowning. The recent content/editing/writing gig is fun, it’s challenging, it’s feeding a creative side, I’m making great contacts, I’m getting positive feedback…I am afraid though. Am I doing it ‘right’? Am I capable of learning technical terms, writing about something that is new to me, etc.? Ah, yes…Mr. Doubt and Mr. Fear are visiting often…

Today as I leaned to steal a look out a window in an empty office (my only way to see outside while at work) – I noticed a bird on a wire. He (or she) was cleaning under its wings. He was thorough, a few beak scraps under one wing, then the other…repeating several times.

He balanced perfectly as he did this. I watched him for a good five minutes. He never fell…never slacked at the preening. He didn’t let fear tell him to stop preening because he might fall. He was flying around, saw a wire, wanted a little ‘me time’ and he did it. He finished getting each feather perfect, sat in silence for a moment, look left and right, then flew off. No doubt, no fear, just doing.

So yeah, I can do this…I can bring my skills to a new project while learning. I can balance and preen.

About theinvisiblecar

2016 update - Still working on research for my novel, blogging, and writing and updating my author site, resources, etc. Loving working with other writers and researching new information for my site! 2014 - Writer in progress. I'm currently working on the second draft of a novel that I started many years ago. I am becoming more and more of the writer I am meant to be.
This entry was posted in My evergrowing writing routine and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

