What do I want to be when I grow up?

Boy that is a question I continue to ask myself…Am I ever going to figure it out or grow up? Actually, I know what I want to be…how do you get there though?

I am not getting any younger. I need to figure this out and stick with it. Writing has been the only consistent thing in my life since I can remember. The journals from grade school through now in a book bag and in bins down in my basement testify to that. I would write alone in my room until my hand cramped and I would hold the pencil in the other hand and print / scribble the final thought out until I came to a stopping point or mom would make me turn out the light go to sleep. I want to be a writer. I am a writer. I want to quit my day job and write for a living. I want to teach writing… all of these ideas have always floated in my head, but more so recently. I work in an office. I’m happy enough. It’s a good job. It challenges me, has good benefits, etc. As far as day jobs go it’s about the best (in several aspects) I have had.

The past several years I have worked toward a degree in Elem. Education. In about 2005 I took the leap to take a class and start the venture (yes, 14 years after graduating high school) I submerged myself in teaching research and those classes. Life happened, my father passed away, jobs changed, financial situations changed…and now almost 10 years later here I am with only about 35 credit hours to my name (wow…that hurt more than I thought it would!). The silver lining of this? hmmm…there is always one isn’t there?

Despite realizing I could be well on my way to getting my Master’s degree if I had kept taking classes while working full time, I have realized I want an English degree, not an Elem. Ed. one. So moving forward, I can stop taking education classes that will not count toward my English degree…YAY, silver lining. I have also realized I actually do want to complete a Master’s degree and teach at a college level. My goals are clearer now…they are quite more difficult to map out as well though. I keep eyeballing the Iowa State University writing programs. That is exciting…not saying I will ever even make it in, but it’s exciting to know my goal is possible.

So first thing first. Pick up the classes I need for a general Associate in Arts degree, I’m half way there right? So complete it. Then find a transfer University to start my English major…complete the Bachelor’s degree. Gain some confidence, suck it up and find more hours in the day to complete a Master’s degree! Simple right? I’ll be like umm… what…55 or 60? And able to teach creative writing finally…? hmmm… I need to add to this plan “find way to go to school full time…win the lottery…sell my first novel and have it made into a blockbuster movie…” So…sure, I can do this. I know what I want to be when I grow up.

About theinvisiblecar

2016 update - Still working on research for my novel, blogging, and writing and updating my author site, resources, etc. Loving working with other writers and researching new information for my site! 2014 - Writer in progress. I'm currently working on the second draft of a novel that I started many years ago. I am becoming more and more of the writer I am meant to be.
This entry was posted in My evergrowing writing routine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

